News archive - WBC Association to FP7 - Preparation of Memoranda of Understanding

FP7 Third Country Agreements are currently being prepared, the Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) associating Turkey, Croatia and Serbia to FP7 are expected to enter into force as of January 1, 2007. Researchers in these countries will be able to receive Community funding once internal procedures have been completed and the MoUs have come into force, reports an article on CORDIS. Also Albania is expected to pay the "entry ticket" for association to FP7.

Participation as 'Associated Country' means that the researchers are equal partners and enjoy opportunities not open to 'third countries'. In order to receive this status, a country must sign the Memorandum of Understanding with the Community and make a financial contribution towards FP7. In exchange, its institutions participate and get EU funding.

FP7 Third Country Agreements expected to apply from January 2007. Quite a range of the Western Balkan countries are expected associate themselves to FP7, currently the most concrete steps are taken by Croatia and Serbia.

Other countries outside the European Union negotiating agreements are Israel, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. Further details on their procedures are also available in the CORDIS article.
Subject to the accomplishment of all procedures, legal entities from these countries will then be eligible to receive Community contributions for projects under FP7 starting January 1, 2007.

For further information, please visit:

Source: CORDIS, based on information from the European Commission.

Entry created by Elke Dall on December 9, 2006
Modified on December 9, 2006