News archive - Association of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the "Seventh European Framework Programme"

Janez Potočnik, EU Commissioner for Science and Research, and Sredoje Novic, minister for Civic Affairs of Bosnia and Herzegovina, have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the EU and BiH on the association of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the "Seventh European Framework Programme" on November 24, 2008.

Bosnia and Herzegovina have thus become the 12th associated country to the EC's 7th Research Framework Programme (FP7). The other Associated Countries are Norway, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Israel, Switzerland, Turkey, Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYRoM), Serbia, Montenegro, and Albania.

The association will give Bosnia and Herzegovina full access to FP7 and allow it to participate in all calls for proposals for research co-operation and support actions funded under FP7 as of 1 January 2009.

The status of FP7 associated country will give researchers, universities, associations and companies from Bosnia and Herzegovina the possibility to participate in research cooperation with their counterparts across Europe and the world. From January 1, 2009 onwards, all Western Balkan countries will be associated to FP7.

The EC Commissioner for Research Janez Potočnik said: “I am pleased to see that with Bosnia and Herzegovina’s association to the FP7, we have all the Balkan countries on board to participate in the ERA”.

Source: RAPID Press Release; RTD Insight December 2008.

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on December 2, 2008
Modified on November 24, 2008