News archive - Albania signs MoU to join FP7

Albania signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoUs) on December 17, 2007 with the European Commission allowing it full participation in the EU's Seventh Research Framework Programme (FP7) as of January 1, 2008.

"Associated status" allows Albania to participate in all calls for proposals and compete on an equal footing with the EU Member States for research co-operation and support actions funded by FP7. As such, this agreement is an important part of the process of applying to join the EU, allowing scientists, universities and companies to create links with their counterparts across Europe and build up their scientific expertise, including in scientific fields crucial to implementing the body of EU legislation. Albania is now added to other countries in the Western Balkans regions that are associated to FP7 – Serbia, Croatia, and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

I strongly believe that the countries of the Western Balkans have much to gain from participating in FP7, as part of their EU membership perspective,” said Science and Research Commissioner Janez Potočnik. “Working with EU scientists and companies, and other scientists and companies in their own region, can bring many benefits – scientific, commercial and political. I applaud Albania for the decision which they are taking today to work with us and their regional partners."

Commissioner Potočnik signed the Memorandum on behalf of the European Commission at a ceremony held in Brussels on 17 December, with the Albanian Education and Science minister Genc Pollo representing his country.

Association to FP7 means that these countries compete in FP7 on the same basis as EU Member States. It opens up research opportunities for the European scientific community. Traditionally the Balkan countries have a solid scientific base and deeper research cooperation with the EU will allow for a greater flow of ideas, people and transfer of technology.

Source: Rapid Press Release IP/07/1940

Entry created by Elke Dall on December 18, 2007
Modified on December 19, 2007