The European Union (EU) supports financing for small businesses (small or medium-sized enterprises, known as SMEs) to help their business start up or develop.


The EU supports SMEs through the Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme 2007-2013 (CIP).CIP funds are used to guarantee loans to SMEs provided by a range of financial institutions involved in SME lending.

Information on this website is provided for all EU Member States, EEA Member States, Accession Countries, Serbia and Montenegro.

Geographical focus
  • Croatia
  • Europe
  • European Union (EU 27)
  • International; Other
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Serbia
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • General

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on July 28, 2010
Modified on April 4, 2012