A comparative analysis of gender equality law in Europe 2015

A comparative analysis of the implementation of EU gender equality law in the EU Member States, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia and Turkey. Written by Alexandra Timmer and Linda Senden (Utrecht University) for the European network of legal experts in gender equality and non-discrimination.

This report provides a general overview of the ways in which EU gender equality law has been implemented in the domestic laws of the 28 Member States of the European Union, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway (the EEA countries) and four candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey).1 The analysis is based on the country reports written by the gender equality law experts of the European equality law network (EELN).2 At the same time, this report explains the most important elements of the EU gender equality acquis.. The term ‘EU gender equality acquis’ refers to all the relevant EU Treaty and EU Charter of Fundamental Rights provisions, legislation and the case law of the CJEU in relation to gender equality.

Document type
  • Report


Publication Year


Geographical focus
  • European Union (EU 27)
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary

Entry created by Ines Marinkovic on June 1, 2016
Modified on June 1, 2016