European Parliament - EP

The European Parliament (EP) is the assembly of the representatives of the 500 million Union citizens. Since 1979 they have been elected by direct universal suffrage. The Lisbon Treaty set the total number of EP seats to 751. The number of MEPs per country is set by a European Council decision adopted unanimously on the EP proposal.The European Parliament is a directly elected parliament representing the citizens of the EU member states. The EP, in agreement with the Council, decides on the European policies (including the research and development policy). The EP is not directly involved in the management of individual projects under the funding schemes.