European Agencies -

The agencies of the European Union are bodies established under European public law and enjoying legal personality, which have been set up by an instrument of Community secondary legislation to carry out a specific technical, scientific or administrative task.The first agencies were set up in the 1970s but most of them started work in 1994 or 1995, following the decision of the Brussels European Council (October 1993) on the siting of the headquarters of seven of them. The most recent are the executive agencies that have been created to manage one or more European programmes. These have been established for a fixed period of time and are located in Brussels or Luxembourg.