Danube Region - DR

The Danube region covers parts of the following EU and non-EU countries (including several Western Balkan countries):

  • Austria,
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Croatia,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Germany (Bavaria & Baden Württemberg)
  • Hungary,
  • Moldova,
  • Montenegro,
  • Romania
  • Serbia,
  • Slovak Republic,
  • Slovenia, and
  • Ukraine (several oblast).

The region is facing several common challenges, including environmental threats (water pollution, floods, climate change), issues of transport, energy connections, shortcomings in safety and security as well as uncoordinated education, research and innovation systems. In order to ensure Better coordination and cooperation between the countries and regions to address these challenges, the European Union Strategy for the Danube Region has been developed.