COST / COST Actions / COST Near Neighbour Scheme

COST is an intergovernmental framework for European Cooperation in Science and Technology, allowing the coordination of nationally-funded research on a European level. COST contributes to reducing the fragmentation in European research investments and opening the European Research Area to cooperation worldwide.

COST Actions or COST projects are networks centered around nationally funded research projects in fields that are of interest to at least five COST countries. The financial support averages EUR 100.000 per year for a four-year period.

For researchers in WBC, COST is a good option to join EU networks and to link up with international peers. You can apply to join a running action or apply to start and coordinate your own COST action.

COST brings together researchers and experts in different countries working on specific topics. COST does NOT fund research itself, but supports networking activities such as meetings, conferences, short term scientific exchanges and outreach activities. Up to 2008, more than 200 scientific networks (Actions) are supported. Each COST Action is a network centred around nationally-funded research projects in fields that are of interest to at least five COST countries. COST provides the COST Actions with financial support for joint activities such as conferences, short-term scientific exchanges and publications. Each COST Action has an objective, defined goals and clear deliverables. COST Actions have located their topic into one of COST’s scientific Domains. Participation in COST Actions is not limited to COST countries. Institutions from non-COST countries may join COST Actions provided there is a mutual benefit.

Official Call Website:

COST Near Neigbour scheme

The COST office can provide support to scientists from approved non-COST participating institutions for the participation in COST meetings. The reimbursement is limited to one participant per insitution and one COST meeting per year.

COST Member States -

  • 35 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Serbia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and
  • One cooperating state: Israel
Near Neighbour countries include: Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, the Russian Federation, Syria, Tunesia and Ukraine.