OSNABRÜCK DECLARATION 2020 on vocational education and training as an enabler of recovery and just transitions to digital and green economies

Declaration of the Ministers in charge of vocational education and training of the Member States, the EU Candidate Countries and the EEA countries, the European social partners and the European Commission, meeting on 30 November 2020 to agree on a new set of policy actions in VET for the period of 2021-2025 to complement and operationalise the vision and strategic objectives formulated in the Council Recommendation on vocational education and training for sustainable competitiveness, social fairness and resilience:

We, the Ministers in charge of vocational education and training (VET) reaffirm our commitment, as discussed in our joint meeting with the European social partners and the European Commission in Osnabrück on 16 and 17 September 2020, to contribute to the post-COVID recovery and to further develop the European Education and Training Area through future-oriented and innovative education and training systems in order to support the digital and green transition and improve employability and competitiveness and thus stimulate economic growth. All objectives and actions will be implemented with due respect to the subsidiarity principle and in accordance with national VET circumstances. We stress that a strong partnership with social partners is vital for achieving the objectives and deliverables set out in the Osnabrück Declaration.We value the support shown by European-level VET providers’ associations and learners’ organisations by issuing their position papers in line with the Osnabrück Declaration.

Agreed bythe Ministers responsible for Vocational Education and Training of countries participating in the Copenhagen process:

  • of the EU Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia,Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden)
  • of the EU Candidate Countries (Albania, the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey)•of the EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein,Norway)Agreed bythe European Social Partners (ETUC, BusinessEurope, SMEUnited, CEEP)
  • Agreed bythe European Commission, and Supported by the European level VET providers’ associations (VET4EU2) and the learners representatives (OBESSU, European Apprentices Network), both issuing a position paper in support of the Osnabrück Declaration

Full declaration is included in the attachment.

Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • European Union (EU 28)
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Serbia
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary

Entry created by Admin WBC-RTI.info on December 1, 2020
Modified on January 13, 2021