Joint Call 2020 (MICall20) on digital transformation for green energy transition

Publication date
January 17, 2021
Deadline
February 17, 2021
Short description

The Joint Programming Platform Smart Energy Systems (JPP SES) in collaboration with the global initiative Mission Innovation is pleased to announce the Joint Call 2020 ("MICall20") on digital transformation for green energy transition.

Together with the supporting activities "Validation Network with Living Labs and Testbeds” and "Associated Partner Network with Digital Platform Providers”, the launch of this Joint Call completes the successful start of the JPP SES Focus Initiative on digitalisation of the energy system ("EnerDigit”). The aim is to support transnational research and innovation activities unleashing the potential of digital transformation for a sustainable energy society. The total available budget for the Joint Call 2020 ("MICall20") exceeds € 25 Mio (including co-funding from the European Commission). The Joint Call 2020 has been launched on 14 December 2020. 

The Joint Call 2020 flyer can be downloaded here

All call related information will be released on this webpage, it will be updated in the course of the call processes.

Digital transformation for green energy transition

Aim

By accelerating the implementation, adaption and knowledge creation of digital solutions in energy systems and networks, this call supports the following objectives:
  • Advance the green energy transition in all sectors of the energy system while ensuring security of supply
  • Shaping new transnational business and investment opportunities by sector coupling and development of new value chains in innovative and cost-effective energy solutions, thereby creating new employment opportunities and contributing to the development of an environmentally sustainable financial growth
  • Ensuring social sustainability and coherence with digitalisation in other sectors in the progression of the green energy transition

Overall objectives

  • Increase the development and uptake of latest digital innovation and solutions in the energy domain
  • facilitate well established open and harmonised marketplaces that better connect the ICT and the energy domain
  • improve knowledge and awareness for policy makers, regulators and utilities on digital solutions

Indicative Call procedure timings

 Proposal phase  Call opens  14 December 2020
 Deadline for compulsory registration of interest  17 February 2021
 Full proposal submission deadline  06 May 2021
 Selection phase  Project selection  November 2021
 Project phase  Project start date   Before 15 June 2022

Application

Project proposals must be submitted electronically through The NordForsk Application Portal.

The full call text can be downloaded here.

Webinars 

Interested organisations can join the information webinar on the call which will take place on 13 January 2021. 

Please register here

National/Regional Funding Agencies Participating in this Call

Funding partners

Country/ region

Funding (€) (minimum regional/national funding available)

Organisation name

Contact person

Austria

2 000 000

The Austrian Research Promotion Agency

Urban Peyker,

urban.peyker@ffg.at 

+43 5 77 55 5049

Czech Republic

1 000 000

Technology Agency of the Czech Republic

Eliška Šibrová,

eliska.sibrova@tacr.cz 

+420 773 464 012

 

Denmark

1 340 600

Energistyrelsen

Henrik T. Aa. Friis

htaf@ens.dk

+45 33 92 77 99

Finland

2 000 000

Business Finland Oy

Jarkko Piirto

jarkko.piirto@businessfinland.fi

Sini Uuttu

Sini.Uuttu@businessfinland.fi

Germany

2 000 000

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

Ralf Eickhoff 

r.eickhoff@fz-juelich.de 

+49 2461 61-9419

Stephan Schulte 

s.schulte@fz-juelich.de 

+49 2461 61-96649

India

1 000 000

Department of Science and Technology

Sanjay Bajpai

sbajpai@nic.in 

(011) 26590283

Raghunath Reddy

raghunath.reddy@nic.in,

(011) 26590604

Israel

900 000

Ministry of Energy

Gideon Friedmann

gideonf@energy.gov.il

 

Yael Harman  

yaelh@energy.gov.il

Yael Avraham  

yaelav@energy.gov.il

Latvia

400 000

VALSTS IZGLITIBAS ATTISTIBAS AGENTURA

Dr Gunta Šlihta

gunta.slihta@viaa.gov.lv

+371 67359072

Dr Maija Bundule

Maija.bundule@viaa.gov.lv

+371 67785423

Morocco

500 000

INSTITUT DE RECHERCHES EN ENERGIE SOLAIRE ET ENERGIES NOUVELLES

Zineb IDRISSI

idrissi@iresen.org

+212 6 63 78 10 60

Nordic and Baltic region (NOBA)

600 000

Nordic Energy Research

Sofia Elamson

sofia.elamson@nordicenergy.org

Norway

500 000

Research Council of Norway

Khanh Tuan Le

ktl@rcn.no

+47 22037046

 

Poland

600 000

National Centre for Research and Development

Jolanta Drozdz,

jolanta.drozdz@ncbr.gov.pl

+48 22 39 07 106

Romania

500 000

Executive Agency for Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation Funding

Elena Simion

elena.simion@uefiscdi.ro

+4021.307.19.93 

 

Scotland (UK)

2 000 000

Scottish Enterprise

Karen Fraser; 

karen.fraser@scotent.co.uk 

+44 141 468 5658

Spain

800 000

Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnologico Industrial E.P.E.

Marina Sopeña

marina.sopena@cdti.es; eranets@cdti.es

+34 91 581 56 07 / 04 89

Sweden

2 000 000

Swedish Energy Agency

Fredrik Lundström

fredrik.lundstrom@energimyndigheten.se

+46 (0) 16 544 21 12

Carolina Ahlqvist

Carolina.ahlqvist@energimyndigheten.se,

+46 (0) 16 542 06 04

Switzerland

2 500 000

Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications.

Michael Moser

michael.moser@bfe.admin.ch

+41 58 465 36 23

Turkey

650 000

The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey

Cagri YILDIRIM

cagri.yildirim@tubitak.gov.tr

Total sum

21 290 600

 

 

 

 

Type
  • Other
Geographical focus
  • European Union (EU 28)
  • International; Other
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary

Entry created by Admin WBC-RTI.info on January 19, 2021
Modified on January 19, 2021