Agricultural University of Tirana - Department of Horticulture


The Agricultural University of Tirana (UBT) is the unique center for undergraduate and graduate studies, scientific research, training and extension in the area of agriculture and food (Agronomy, Horticulture and Plant Protection, Economy and Agrarian Policy, Agro-environment and Ecology, Agro-food Technology, Animal Husbandry and Business, Aquaculture and Fishery Management, Forestry Engineering, Veterinary Medicine etc.).

Established on November 1st, 1951 as the Higher Agricultural Institute (HAI) with the status of a university, in 1991 it was given the name Agricultural University of Tirana (UBT). Located on a forested hill in the Northwestern part of Tirana outskirts, it is only 7 kilometers far from the city center. Until 1990, the university was composed of four faculties (Agronomy, Agrarian Economy, Forestry Engineering and Veterinary Medicine) with about 6000 students and 480 pedagogues.

During the period 1992-1994, UBT carried out the process of academic restructuring with the assistance of two projects: SARA, financed by the USA government (USAID); and GTZ, financed by the German government. Subsequently, the university was reorganized into three faculties and one interfaculty unit: Faculty of Agriculture which consists of 7 departments and offers 10 diploma;
Faculty of Forestry Sciences consists of 2 departments and offers 2 diploma;
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine consists of 3 departments and offers 1 diploma.
Actually, the university offers 13 Diploma, 10 Master directions, and 50 individuals attend graduate studies in the areas of: Agro-environment and Ecology, Horticulture and Plant Protection, Plant Genetic Improvement, Veterinary Public Health, Animal Clinic, Farm Management, Agrarian Policy, Animal Husbandry, Forest Exploitation and Wood Processing, etc.

Since the year 2001, UBT has been involved with a new restructuring process according to the "Bologna Declaration". Starting from the academic year 2005-2006, AUT is considering organizing studies in conformity with the 3+2+3 schedule (Bachelor, Master and PhD). Scientific research at AUT is considered an essential component of the academic life and a concrete contribution to the progress of Albanian agriculture, as well.

Scientific research has been conducted through participation in: national projects; programs such as "Agriculture and Food", "Biotechnology and Biological Diversity"; projects undertaken by the National Agency for Environment; bilateral projects with Greek and Italian government; DAD projects; NATO projects; IMG Tempus projects; World Bank projects; and projects for research and development which were funded by the Albanian government special budget during 2004.

As the major center for education and scientific research in the area of agriculture and food, AUT has been the initiator of establishing research-production links. These links have been materialized through the signing of "Memorandum of Understanding" with Albanian business. UBT has established cooperation relations with many universities in Europe and USA, such as University of Hohenheim-Stuttgart, Humboldt University of Berlin, University of Bonn, University of Gotingen-in Germany; University of Viterbo, University of Pisa, University of Florence, University of Perugia, University of Tor Vergata, University of Udine, CIHEAM-IAM-Valenzano, University of Bari-in Italy; Agricultural University of Norway-in Norway; Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, University of Atlanta, University of Colorado, University of Georgia, University of Oklahoma, Cornell University-in USA; Polytechnic National Institute of Nancy, CIHEAM-IAM-Montpellier- in France; Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Patras University-in Greece; Agricultural University of Plovdiv-in Bulgaria; University Ss. Cyril and Methodius, Skopje, University St. Kliment Ohridski, Bitola-in Macedonia; and University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine, Bucharest-in Rumania.

Through this cooperation, UBT aims its integration into European System 3+2 (Bachelor and Master), diploma recognition and equalization, intensification of cooperation for undertaking joint scientific research projects and large scale exchange of academic staff, students and administrative staff, organization of joint seminars, workshops, and conferences.

Department / Unit
Department of Horticulture
  • Higher Education
Contact details
Address: Koder-Kamez, Tirana, Albania
Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • General/no specific focus
  • Western Balkans
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Agricultural Sciences

Entry created by Endrit Kullaj on August 24, 2009
Modified on March 9, 2022