University of Prishtina


The University of Prishtina was established by the “Law on the Establishment of the University of Prishtina,” which was approved by the Assembly of the Socialist Autonomous Province of Kosova, on November 18, 1969. The establishment of the University of Prishtina was an historical event for the people of Kosova and the Albanian nation as a whole.

In the academic year 2009/2010, the University of Prishtina had 41,833 students enrolled. (37,839 of the students were in their Bachelor studies and 3,544 in their Master studies.)

The University of Prishtina has the following academic units:

1. Department of Philosophy
2. Department of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
3. Department of Philology
4. Department of Law
5. Department of Economics
6. Department of Engineering and Architecture
7. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
8. Department of Mechanical Engineering
9. Department of Medicine
10. Department of Arts
11. Department of Agriculture
12. Department of Geosciences and Technology
13. Department of Sport Sciences
14. Department of Education
15. Department of Applied Sciences and Business - Pejë
16. Department of Applied Sciences and Engineering – Mitrovicë and
17. Department of Applied Sciences and Engineering - Ferizaj

  • Higher Education
Contact details
Phone:+381 38 244 183 /244 186
Fax:+381 38 244 187
Address:University of Prishtina Rektorati Str. "Mother Teresa", Republic of Kosova, 10 000 Prishtinë
Geographical focus
  • Kosovo*
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary

Entry created by Danaja Lorencic on January 16, 2013
Modified on April 24, 2013