News archive - COIN Programme Supports Strategic RDI cooperation Between Austria and SEE

COIN – Cooperation & Innovation – is a joint initiative launched by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit) and the Austrian Federal Ministry of Economy, Family and Youth (BMWFJ). The "Cooperation and Network” line encourages technology transfer within entrepreneurial cooperation schemes, thus raising the level of innovation within businesses and strengthening their cooperation capacities.

Submission deadline: November 12, 2010.

Rules of application for international consortia

Considering the different starting points for Austria and South-Eastern and Eastern-Europe as regions for prospective cooperation, the situation offers a clear win-win potential which needs to be strategically utilised. Austrian enterprises can offer an impetus and participate in the increased growth thus induced. In this way, a joint axis between players in Austria and in the South-Eastern and Eastern European states can enjoy competitive advantages in a global context which benefit all parties involved. In view of the geographical and cultural proximity, major advantages should accrue from this win-win potential in particular to technology-focused SMEs in Austria (as well as in the partner countries). To obtain state aid, the main beneficiaries of a given project must be the SMEs involved in it.

Amount of aid:

Funding rate in terms of overall projects: max. 75% of eligible overall costs.

  • For intermediaries and research institutes involved: max. 75%.
  • For enterprises involved: same as the generally valid COIN regulations (for large, medium and small enterprises respectively).
  • Within the scope of these institutional differences, project partners from Austria and the partner countries receive equal treatment.

Partner structure:

  • Involvement of at least four enterprises (of which at least three SMEs), of which at least two from Austria and at least two from the partner region.
  • Partners within a minimum-scale consortium must not be interlinked.
  • Where projects involve the development of a network a higher number of partners is desirable.
  • This call explicitly permits cooperation between "clustered systems”. (Clustered systems: Several players [enterprises, as well as research institutes and intermediaries] from a closely defined regional environment cooperate with several players from another closely defined regional environment, thus contributing to the "strategic” coupling of two regional innovation systems in a given technology field.)

Maximum portion of Austrian aid flowing abroad:

  • Generally 20–40%, depending on the number of partners and partner countries involved (in South-Eastern and Eastern Europe);
  • not less than 15%; and
  • not more than 50%.

Partner countries for consortium partners:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Georgia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kosovo (under UNSCR 1244/99)
  • FYR of Macedonia
  • Moldavia
  • Montenegro
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

Source and further information:, as accessed on July 6, 2010.

Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • European Union (EU 27)
  • Kosovo*
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • SEE
  • Serbia
  • Western Balkans

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on November 2, 2010
Modified on July 6, 2010