News archive - 61 CEEPUS Networks Selected - Moldova Joins Programme

On March 29, 2011, the International CEEPUS Commission accredited 61 new CEEPUS networks for the academic year 2011/2012. Moldova will join the CEEPUS network as of 2011/2012.

The CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies was initiated by Austria in 1995. It is a transnational Central European university network which is composed of different individual subject-specific networks. In 2005 CEEPUS II came into force with new programme priorities. CEEPUS II is to support in particular mobility in the framework of “joint degree” networks. At present CEEPUS unites universities from 15 Central and Eastern European countries in the framework of networks consisting of at least three higher education institutions from at least two different contractual countries.

At present the following countries take part:

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, FYR of Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia. Kosovo (under UNSCR 1244) with the University of Prishtina is also eligible for participation. Moldova will join the CEEPUS network as of 2011/2012.

Conditions for application for students

  • Students must have studied at least two semesters of the field of study for which they want to apply.
  • Students have to be nationals of a CEEPUS country (or an EU/EEA country); this restriction does not apply to lecturers.
  • The duration of stays for students must be a minimum of 3 months and a maximum of 10 months. Attention: Shorter stays are only possible in the framework of diploma theses and dissertations!
  • Before application the CEEPUS coordinator in charge at the home institution has to be contacted.
  • Lecturers have to teach 6 hours per 5 working days at the host institution and produce proof that they actually teach these hours.

Within a network Austrian and foreign students are exempted from paying tuition fees and they will receive a comprehensive grant from the host country which depends on the living costs of the country. Moreover Austrian outgoing CEEPUS scholarship recipients can apply for a mobility allowance. After submission of the final report and the necessary proofs of the successful course of studies a travel costs subsidy (a lump sum) will also be paid.

Where to submit your application

  • For scholarships in the framework of networks: please enquire at the network coordinator and/or network partner; the application is to be made online via the CEEPUS Website
  • For networks: National CEEPUS office (online application via the CEEPUS website)

Upcoming deadlines:

  • Fall/Winter 2011 resp. academic year 2011/2012: June 15, 2011
  • Spring/Summer 2012: October 31, 2011
  • Freemovers (Spring/Summer 2012): November 30, 2011


More information is availble at




Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • International; Other
  • Kosovo*
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • SEE
  • Serbia
  • Western Balkans

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on April 12, 2011
Modified on April 12, 2011