News archive - ERASMUS MUNDUS II adopted by the European Parliament

On October 21, 2008, the European Parliament voted in favour of establishing the second phase of the Erasmus Mundus (2009-2013) programme.

Erasmus Mundus is a European action programme for the enhancement of quality in higher education and the promotion of intercultural understanding through co-operation with third countries. During its first phase (2004-2008) more than 6,000 students from outside Europe will have received an Erasmus Mundus scholarship to obtain a degree in Europe and more than 1,000 teaching staff from third countries will have been given a scholarship to actively contribute to masters courses in teaching or research activities.

The European Union will thus continue to support joint programmes in Europe with grants to high calibre students and professors from third countries, but also extend its scope to the doctoral level and give more support to European students outside the EU.

The new phase of the programme proposes the integration of the "Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window" under the "Erasmus Mundus" umbrella. Partnerships funded under this action will continue to allow for the transfer of know-how and exchanges of students and professors at all levels of higher education according to the "Erasmus" model, while respecting the needs and priorities of the countries concerned. The first joint initiatives under the new actions of the Erasmus Mundus can take place in the academic year 2010/11.

Who can apply for which Action?

Action 1 - European higher education institutions from the 27 European Union Member States and the EEA/EFTA States. Candidate countries to the European Union can be involved once their participation in the programme is decided. At present none of the candidate countries has formalised its participation in the Erasmus Mundus programme. Consequently, they cannot participate in Action 1 and have the status of third countries as regards Actions 3 and 4, until they formalise their participation in the programme.

Action 2
- Graduate students and scholars from third-countries admitted in an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course. In the framework of the Western Balkans Window, students from Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia are eligible to apply for Erasmus Mundus scholarships under Action 2.

Action 3 - Selected Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses and third-country higher education institutions

Action 4 - Higher education institutions all over the world as well as private and public bodies active in the field of higher education

Further information: Erasmus Mundus Frequently Asked Questions page, Erasmus Mundus Student and Alumni Association


Sources: European Commission - DG Education & Training (as accessed on November 5, 2008)

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on October 30, 2008
Modified on November 5, 2008