News archive - EU Eases Visa Regime

An agreement relieving visa restrictions for citizens of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia travelling to the EU enters into force on January 1, 2008.

The agreement will be applied in all EU member states except Denmark and the UK. It will also cover the nine new Schengen members -- the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

The agreement will allow many groups to receive cheaper, and in many cases, even free visas for travel to the EU, and will simplify visa application procedures.

In this context the Slovenian Presidency welcomes the European Commission’s intention to initiate dialogue in due time on visa liberalisation with each of the five countries with a view to establishing a road map on the conditions to be met.

Source: SETimes,

Entry created by Elke Dall on December 31, 2007
Modified on January 3, 2008