News archive - Olga Radzyner Award for Scientific Work on European Economic Integration Offered to Young Economists from CEE and SEE

The Oesterreichische Nationalbank (Austrian National Bank) has established an award to commemorate Olga Radzyner, former head of the Foreign Research Division, who died in a tragic accident in August 1999. The award is bestowed on young economists for excellent research focused on topics of European economic integration and is conferred annually at the OeNB’s Conference on European Economic Integration. Four applicants are eligible to receive a single payment of EUR 3,000 each from an annual total of EUR 12,000.

Submission deadline: October 4, 2010.

Please find an overview on the conditions for participation below. For further information, please visit the award website

  • The submitted work shall qualify as scientific and should not exceed approximately 30 pages in length. Preferably, it should be in the form of a working paper or a scientific article or be the result of a master’s or doctoral thesis.
  • The submitted work shall deal with the topic of European economic integration.
  • Authors shall be under 35 years of age at the date of submission.
  • Authors shall be citizens of one of the following countries: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, FYR Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Hungary, Kosovo (under UNSCR 1244) , Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Ukraine.
  • The Oesterreichische Nationalbank shall receive the work submitted for this award, by October 4, 2010, and the work shall be sent by e-mail or in hard copy to Ms Eva Gehringer-Wasserbauer, Oesterreichische Nationalbank, Foreign Research Division, PO Box 61, A-1011 Vienna, Austria. To identify their work as a submission, applicants shall mark the envelope with the reference “Olga Radzyner Award 2010”.
  • If the work submitted has already won an award or if it has been submitted for other awards, this circumstance shall be mentioned in the application. Moreover, the applicant shall notify the reviewers whether and when parts of the work or the entire work have been published. Submissions for the Olga Radzyner Award shall be treated confidentially.
  • The work shall be reviewed by a panel of four reviewers, who shall be qualified OeNB staff members. The award shall be conferred on recommendation of the panel by the Oesterreichische Nationalbank’s Governing Board.
  • The Oesterreichische Nationalbank is entitled, but by no means obligated, to publish the awarded papers in full or in part without obligation to make any additional payments. The OeNB shall reserve the right to invite award winners to present their papers; the award winners shall agree to give such a presentation without remuneration. The Oesterreichische Nationalbank shall have the right to issue, or to have someone issue, press releases or other notifications in connection with the presentation of the award, which shall take place at the Conference on European Economic Integration following the date of submission.
  • The award will be given to the winners in the context of the OeNB’s Conference on European Economic Integration. The award winners will be reimbursed for travel and accommodation costs incurred.

Source: wiiw Newsletter.

Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • International; Other
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • SEE
  • Serbia

Entry created by Katarina Rohsmann on June 4, 2010
Modified on June 4, 2010