News archive - Olga Radzyner Award


Award for scientific work on European economic integration offered to young economists from Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe. Submission deadline: October 10, 2011

The Oesterreichische Nationalbank has established an award to commemorate Olga Radzyner, former head of the Foreign Research Division, who died in a tragic accident in August 1999. The award is bestowed on young economists for excellent research focused on topics of European economic integration and is conferred annually at the OeNB’s Conference on European Economic Integration. Four applicants are eligible to receive a single payment of EUR 3,000 each from an annual total of EUR 12,000.
For more details please follow the OENB link.

 Conditions for Participation 2011

  1.  The submitted work shall qualify as scientific and should not exceed approximately 30 pages in length. Preferably, it should be in the form of a working paper or a scientific article or be the result of a master’s or doctoral thesis.
  2. The submitted work shall deal with the topic of European economic integration
  3. The review process shall, above all, assess the quality and originality of the work. 
  4. Authors shall be under 35 years of age at the date of submission.
  5. Authors shall be citizens of one of the following countries:Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, FYR Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Ukraine.
  6. Proof of date of birth and citizenship must be provided upon application; authors shall also include a brief CV.
  7. In the case of coauthored work, each of the coauthors has to fulfill all the criteria.
  8. Previous winners of the Olga Radzyner Award, ESCB central bank employees as well as former and current employees of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank are excluded from participation. 
  9. The submitted work shall be typewritten and shall be in English or German.
  10. The Oesterreichische Nationalbank shall receive the work submitted for this award, by October 10, 2011, and the work shall be sent by e-mail or in hard copy to Ms Eva Gehringer-Wasserbauer, Oesterreichische Nationalbank, Foreign Research Division, PO Box 61, A-1011 Vienna, Austria. To identify their work as a submission, applicants shall mark the envelope with the reference “Olga Radzyner Award 2011”.
  11. If the work submitted has already won an award or if it has been submitted for other awards, this circumstance shall be mentioned in the application. Moreover, the applicant shall notify the reviewers whether and when parts of the work or the entire work have been published. Submissions for the Olga Radzyner Award shall be treated confidentially.
  12. The work shall be reviewed by a panel of four reviewers, who shall be qualified OeNB staff members. The award shall be conferred on recommendation of the panel by the Oesterreichische Nationalbank’s Governing Board. 
  13. If the panel should come to the conclusion that none, or only one or two or three of the submitted works qualify for the award, it is authorized to suggest to the OeNB’s Governing Board that no award be conferred, or that only one or two or three awards (EUR 3,000 each) be conferred. 
  14. The panel shall determine the award winners by simple majority. The chairperson shall have the casting vote. The decision of the Governing Board of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank based on the panel’s proposal shall be final and, like the panel’s decision, shall not be subject to appeal. The applicants shall not have any legal recourse. 
  15. The Oesterreichische Nationalbank is entitled, but by no means obligated, to publish the awarded papers in full or in part without obligation to make any additional payments. The OeNB shall reserve the right to invite award winners to present their papers; the award winners shall agree to give such a presentation without remuneration. The Oesterreichische Nationalbank shall have the right to issue, or to have someone issue, press releases or other notifications in connection with the presentation of the award, which shall take place at the Conference on European Economic Integration following the date of submission. 
  16. The award will be given to the winners in the context of the OeNB’s Conference on European Economic Integration. The award winners will be reimbursed for travel and accommodation costs incurred. 
  17. By submitting their work, applicants shall consent to the above terms and conditions. The granting of awards shall not entail any further obligations for the OeNB. 
  18. Submitted work upon which none of the awards is conferred will be sent back to the author that has handed it in, after the conclusion of the award selection process. 
  19. For further information please contact Ms. Eva Gehringer-Wasserbauer in the Foreign Research Division of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank either by e-mailor by phone ((+43-1) 404 20-5205).  
Geographical focus
  • SEE
  • Western Balkans

Entry created by Ines Marinkovic on June 14, 2011
Modified on June 14, 2011