Adriatic Cross Border Cooperation Programme

The IPA Adriatic Cross-border Programme is a cross-border programme co-financed by the European Commission through the Instrument of Pre-accession Assistance (IPA). The IPA Adriatic Cross-border Programme aims at "strengthening the sustainable development capacity of the Adriatic Region through an agreed strategy of actions among the partners of the eligible territories".

The eligible area of the Programme consists of the territories facing the Adriatic Sea. These are identified as NUTS III (or equivalent level) of

  • three Member States (Italy, Greece, and Slovenia),
  • a Candidate Country (Croatia),
  • three Potential Candidate Country (Albania, Montenegro, and Bosnia and Herzegovina).

Although not being territorially eligible for the Programme because it lacks of costal area, but taking into account its eligibility in previous INTERREG IIIA NPPA Adriatic Cross-border Programme 2004 -2006, Serbia participates in the Programme with the whole territory under a phasing out condition until 31 December 2012.


Source: Website of the Programme as accessed in May, 2011.

Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Croatia
  • International; Other
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary
  • General

Entry created by Gabriela Thomasova on May 8, 2011
Modified on April 3, 2012