"Beyond Europe" – Second Calls

Publication date
November 23, 2016
March 1, 2017
Short description

The present Call of the programme "Beyond Europe" aims at increasing the international RTI activities and collaborations of Austrian companies and research institutions with partners outside Europe in the form of research projects. It is assumed that Beyond Europe partners will generally bear their own costs. They may however receive direct funding from the programme budget to a limited extend, depending on the respective funding instrument.

The Programme is open to all thematic fields. Funding is available for projects in all technical disciplines. The present Call invites proposals for relevant research projects. Project proposals may be submitted for explorytory projects and cooperative R&D projects of the category "Experimental Development".

The applicant must ensure that the bilateral projects submitted are not aimed at developing weapons or violence-promoting products or at gambling of any kind (i.e. games in which the outcome is determined exclusively or predominantly by chance).

Some special characteristics of this Call are:
  • All applications must be submitted by an Austrian company.
  • Exploratory projects can be carried out as individual projects or as cooperative projects with 2 or more project partners - when carried out as cooperative projects, at least one partner from a "Beyond Europe" state must be involved in the consortium.
  • In Cooperative R&D Projects the consortium must include at least one partner from a "Beyond Europe" country. The maximum level of funding granted is EUR 500.000,-. Only projects of the category "Experimental Development" are eligible for funding.
All legal entities, partnerships and sole traders that are not part of the Austrian federal administration are eligible to receive funding.
Partners from all countries/states of the world can apply for funding under the Beyond Europe programme and international RTI cooperation with the exception of the other 27 EU Member States and the following Associated Countries to Horizon 2020:
  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Faroe Islands
  • Georgia
  • Iceland
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine
The participation of project partners from the countries listed above is possible and welcome, but they are not eligible to receive funding under this Call.

Find here the information on the second call (in German)

  • Other
Geographical focus
  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Kosovo*
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Serbia
Scientifc field / Thematic focus
  • Cross-thematic/Interdisciplinary
  • Engineering and Technology

Entry created by Ines Marinkovic on February 1, 2017
Modified on February 1, 2017