Acquis Communautaire or Community acquis - Acquis

Acquis communautaire is a French term meaning, essentially "the EU as it is" - in other words, it is the body of common rights and obligations which bind all Member States together with the European Union. The acquis includes all the EU's treaties and laws, declarations and resolutions, international agreements on EU affairs and the judgments given by the Court of Justice. Applicant countries have to accept the Community acquis before they can join the Union, which means taking the EU as you find it. Candidate countries have to accept the acquis before they can join the EU, and make EU law part of their own national legislation. During this process, the acquis is divided into chapters that are negotiated between the European Union and the candidate member states. For example, 35 chapters were negotiated for the accession of Croatia:

  1. Free movement of goods
  2. Freedom of movement for workers
  3. Right of establishment and freedom to provide services
  4. Free movement of capital
  5. Public procurement
  6. Company law
  7. Intellectual property law
  8. Competition policy
  9. Financial services
  10. Information society and media
  11. Agriculture and rural development
  12. Food safety, veterinary and phytosanitary policy
  13. Fisheries
  14. Transport policy
  15. Energy
  16. Taxation
  17. Economic and monetary policy
  18. Statistics
  19. Social policy and employment (including anti-discrimination and equal opportunities for women and men)
  20. Enterprise and industrial policy
  21. Trans-European networks
  22. Regional policy and coordination of structural instruments
  23. Judiciary and fundamental rights
  24. Justice, freedom and security
  25. Science and research
  26. Education and culture
  27. Environment
  28. Consumer and health protection
  29. Customs union
  30. External relations
  31. Foreign, security and defence policy
  32. Financial control
  33. Financial and budgetary provisions
  34. Institutions
  35. Other issues