Directorate General - DG

Directorate General (DG) is an administrative unit of the Commission. Currently the Commission is divided into about 30 DGs (and comparable services).

Several of them are involved in the management of R&D activities (FP7, etc.): e.g. DG Research and Innovation (RTD), DG Information Society and Media (INFSO), DG Enterprise and Industry (ENTR), DG Energy (ENER), DG Mobility and Transport (MOVE). Furthermore, DG Enlargement (ELARG) is relevant for the enlargement process, DG Regional Policy (REGIO) for processes such as the Danube Strategy, etc. The administrative head of a DG is known as the Director-General.

WBC-INCO.NET has established contacts with administrators on several levels in different DGs in order to support the integration of the WBC in the European Research and Innovation Area.

DGs are classified according to the policy they deal with. The Commission services deal with more general administrative issues or have a specific mandate, for example fighting fraud or creating statistics.

Departments (DGs)


See also