European Research Infrastructure Consortium - ERIC

The Community legal framework for a European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) entered into force on 28 August 2009. This specific legal form is designed to facilitate the joint establishment and operation of research infrastructures of European interest.

Background and objectives of the Regulation
Setting up an ERIC
National procedures for ERICs


An example of particular relevance (good practice) is C-ERIC, Central European Research Infrastructure Consortium, which applied for the ERIC status on 11 June 2012. C-ERIC will be a distributed research Infrastructure dedicated to the Analytical and Synthesis facilities for Materials Sciences.


Examples of running ERICs:

CLARIN, the pan-European Common Language Resources and Technology Infrastructure

Eight countries are committed to the setting up of CLARIN-ERIC: Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Poland, and the Netherlands. The Dutch Language Union completes the list of founding members. CLARIN-ERIC will be hosted in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

CLARIN makes digital language resources available to scholars and researchers of all disciplines, in particular humanities and social sciences. It provides a single collection of data and tools which can be accessed by the user through a web application, requiring only one identity and sign-on. Researchers are gaining access to repositories of data with standardized descriptions and processing tools to operate them, as well as to guidance and advice through distributed knowledge centres. CLARIN allows a true scientific on-line approach, enabling sophisticated queries based on analysis and processing of language materials.

News Alert
CLARIN website

Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE)

SHARE is hosted by Tilburg University in the Netherlands and aims to help researchers understand the impact of population ageing on European societies and thus to help policy makers make decisions on health, social and economic policy.
Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Germany and the Netherlands are the founding members of SHARE. Denmark, Spain, France, Italy and Portugal are expected to join soon, with Switzerland to have observer status. Other EU countries may sign up later.
SHARE website