Tempus (the Trans European cooperation scheme for higher education) is the European Union’s programme which supports the modernisation of higher education in the Partner Countries of Eastern Europe, Central Asia, the Western Balkans and the Mediterranean region, mainly through university cooperation projects.

The Tempus Programme was first adopted on 7 May 1990 by the Council of Ministers of the European Union. 

Source: http://www.unizg.hr/tempusprojects/what.htm

Tempus supports the modernisation of higher education and creates an area of co-operation in countries surrounding the EU. Established in1990, the scheme now covers 27 countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and Central Asia, North Africa and the Middle East.

Tempus funds two types of actions:

  • Joint Projects: partnerships between higher education institutions in the EU and partner countries. They can develop, modernise and disseminate new curricula, teaching methods or materials, as well as boosting quality assurance and management of higher education institutions.
  • Structural Measures: to develop and reform higher education institutions and systems in partner countries; to enhance their quality and relevance, and to increase convergence with EU developments.

Partnerships are made up of consortia of organisations including higher education institutions, businesses, ministries, NGOs, and other organisations working in higher education, in both EU and partner countries.

Source: http://ec.europa.eu/education/external-relation-programmes/tempus_en.htm