European Territorial Cooperation - ETC

Cohesion policy encourages regions and cities from different EU Member States to work together and learn from each other through joint programmes, projects and networks.

In the period 2007-13 the European Territorial Co-operation objective (formerly the INTERREG Community Initiative) covers three types of programmes:

  • Cross-border co-operation programmes along internal EU borders. There are also CBC programmes involving the WBC.
  • Transnational co-operation programmes cover larger areas of co-operation such as the Baltic Sea, Alpine and Mediterranean regions. For WBC, the South East Europe programme is of most relevance which covers all countries, the Mediterranean programme also covers some WBC.
  • The interregional co-operation programme (INTERREG IVC) and 3 networking programmes (Urbact II, Interact II and ESPON) cover all 27 Member States of the EU and are not open to WBC.

The European Territorial Co-operation objective is financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), for Western Balkan countries by the Instrument for Pre-Accession (IPA).