South East Europe - SEE

South East Europe is a geographical term refering to the Balkan region. There are different models and concepts for the geographical area and in different projects that bear the acronym "SEE", different regional compositions are refered to (e.g. SEE-ERA.NET Plus, FORSEE or many others).

"South East Europe programme" is of particular importance in the context of RTDI cooperation. It is a funding programme which aims to improve integration and competitiveness. The programme is supporting projects developed within four Priority Axes: Innovation, Environment, Accessibility, and Sustainable Growth Areas.
The South East Europe Programme Area includes 16 countries (including all WBC). For 14 countries the eligible area is the whole territory of the country, namely for Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Greece, Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia and Republic of Moldova. In 2 countries only certain regions are eligible: in Italy these eligible regions are: Lombardia, Bolzano/Bozen, Trento, Veneto, Friuli-Venezia-Giulia, Emilia Romagna, Umbria, Marche, Abruzzo, Molise, Puglia Basilicata, and in Ukraine: Cjermovestka Oblast, Ivano-Frankiviska Oblast, Zakarpatska Oblast and Odessa Oblast.
The programme is one of 13 developed in the framework of the Regional Policy's European Territorial Cooperation Objective in the Cohesion Funds period 2007-2013.